Absolute Beginner Korean learning resources?

Hello, Korean learners and experts! :wave:

I thought this year I might start to dabble a little in Korean to feel this nice new language rush.

I’ve mostly learned to read Hangul (mainly from here and a mix of apps that were frustrating for various reasons) , although the slight differences in the pronunciation of consonants will probably forever escape me.

My question is, do you have any favourite resources you would recommend to someone just starting out, and especially someone coming from Japanese (I understand there are many grammar similarities)? Apps, websites, textbooks, anything goes. I generally prefer learning by reading rather than by watching videos, and my ultimate primary goal would be to be able to read Korean fiction and join the book clubs here . But any good resources are welcome!

8 Likes

First off, 환영합니다! Very exciting you’re venturing across the East sea.

Since you’re advanced in Japanese, I’d probably use Japanese textbooks for the most part, which @bungakushoujo would be able to recommend.

For general grammar, I, and I think just about everyone, recommend Korean Grammar in Use Beginning | L0. It’s very straightforward.

I did use https://www.howtostudykorean.com/ a lot too for grammar… but he’s much more longwinded than KGIU. I actually made most of my notecards from howtostudykorean since it’s easily searchable and I found it first… but looking back on it, wished I had just used KGIU instead.

mostly avoided ‘beginner’ courses and textbooks outside of those things, just did iTalki and Anki… so not too much experience otherwise.

I don’t know much about apps. Talk To Me In Korean is commonly recommended but I think it’d go much too slowly for you. They do, however, have a ton of beginner listening material which is great. I hear good things about LingoDeer but I’ve never tried.

6 Likes