My attempt at learning Japanese in one year

I already have a study log on the WaniKani forum, but since I’m lurking around in these forums as well, I thought I could make one here as well. So, here I am, I guess.

Background with Japanese:

I’ve been studing for about 4 months now. I started on November 30th, 2023 with the goal to learn Japanese in one year, which means I want to be able to comfortably read and listen to stuff in Japanese without too much troubles, and hopefully also be able to produce decent Japense text on a level where I can communicate with others. My ultimate goal will be fluency, but that will most likely take me way more than just one year. However, I’m confident that I can reach something like N2 level in one year.

I’ve already finished all the grammar on Bunpro up to N3, and would consider myself to be at around N4-N3 grammar wise. My vocabulary is pretty trash, though, I would rate it N5, perhaps a very weak N4. Note that I haven’t taken any tests yet, and I honestly don’t plan to take any official tests in the near future. What I will do, however, is do mock exams from time to time.

Resources:

Apart from Bunpro, I’m also using WaniKani with a lot of scripts (you can find the list of scripts that I use in the OP of my study log in the WaniKani forums, which I linked above) to learn kanji and am currently at level 19. Of course, I’m going max speed there with one week per level.

Since WaniKani doesn’t prioritize teaching useful vocab first, I also use iKnow for additional vocab studies. I’ve got a coupon for that website that let’s me use it for free for an entire year. Not sure if they are still valid, but if you’re interested, you can find them here.