[Poll] Korean Book Clubs

Natively Korean has just launched (hooray! :partying_face:), and something I’m looking forward to is seeing book clubs being hosted on the forums. This thread is for gauging interest in Korean book clubs and general discussion about what kind of book clubs people would be interested in.

First, a poll!

If you’d like to join a Korean book club, what level(s) would you be interested in?
  • L0-5 | TOPIK 1 | A1
  • L6-12 | TOPIK 2 | A2
  • L13-19 | TOPIK 3 | B1
  • L20-26 | TOPIK 4 | B2
  • L27-33 | TOPIK 5 | C1
  • L34-40 | TOPIK 6 | C2
  • L41+ | TOPIK 6+ | C2+
0 voters
2 Likes

I’d love to go for a book club! It’d keep me honest with my language studies and not only work on Natively :sweat_smile:

I could probably push it to the L20-26 too, I honestly have no idea of my level.

2 Likes

Yeah, it’ll be difficulty to judge levels until there are enough gradings. We’ll just have to make educated guesses for a while… :laughing:

2 Likes

I’m an absolute beginner and may not be good enough, yet, for a book club but I do like the idea. I can read and write Hangul and sound out words. I need to learn batchim and the creation of sentences next.

3 Likes

Glad to hear you’re interested! :smile:

The nice thing about book clubs is there’s no pressure - you can choose to join if you’re interested in what’s being read, or you can wait until a book is selected that’s more to your liking. If there were to be a book club for the TOPIK 1 level for example, it might be a graded reader or a children’s book. And the book club thread is for discussion of what’s being read and any difficulties you might have with the language, so there will be help available. :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

I’m interested! I’m not quite sure what my level is. I did well with a couple of books for middle graders (think like 8-10 age group), and struggled more with a YA book.

2 Likes