Absolute beginner Japanese learning ressources

I’ve run out of the little willpower that was stopping me from learning yet another language, so I just started on Japanese. So far, I’ve learned hiragana through the Tofugu Hiragana guide and I’m planning to use their other guide for katakana. I’ll also be trying out wanikani for kanji, and see if that fits me.

Now, where I’m a bit lost as to what to use is grammar. I feel like there are just so many ressources, and I don’t want to spend my time looking through them instead of actually learning. So, what ressources would you recommend for grammar? And what about beginner ressources for listening?

I’ll admit, I’m not a fan of textbooks in general, but I do love my Korean Grammar in Use | L0-27 textbooks, although I use them more as references. Instead, I usually prefer video courses (for example for Korean, the Learn Korean with GO! Billy Korean channel is my main source of grammar). Ideally, I’d also like to have a reliable free online ressource to just quickly be able to look up grammar points.
I think it’d also be very interesting to find some videos teaching Japanese grammar from Korean, as I’d probably be able to connect the similar grammar points and concepts a lot more easily that way.

7 Likes

Welcome. You are now one of us. You can check out any time you like, but you can never leave. :smiling_imp:

On a more serious note:
A lot of people swear by Tae Kim’s Guide. It’s free, so worth taking a look.

7 Likes

I mostly blame Natively for making me start Japanese this early :sweat_smile:. I told myself that I was going to wait before I got to a strong B2 in Korean and comfortably into the intermediate level for Italian, but y’all are just too convincing. Not that I didn’t already have an interest in learning Japanese, but I just couldn’t continue not being able to read all the great books that I see everyone mentionning in Japanese.

7 Likes