Is Bookmeter useful/worth joining?

I am thinking of joining and reviewing there when I read books, as it’s not a bad excuse to write in Japanese.

I’ve never used it before, so I’m wondering if people here have used it.

Have people found it

• a nice addition to Natively
  • a pain to use
  • anything else of note?

Also, I’m curious whether ‘owned by Kadokawa Group’ - has any shady side effects. E.g. does it mean books from other media groups are blocked? Or it is fairly open?

5 Likes

I’ve used it since before Natively was created, and it’s okay. But I don’t personally write reviews and there’s no way to rate anything just with stars. So personally, once Natively adds proper support for rereads I’ll probably stop using it.

3 Likes

I like it because I can share my Bookmeter shelf with Japanese book lovers and they can see what sorts of books/authors I’m into easily. Natively is only in English and the UI doesn’t let you have the nice “bookshelves” that Bookmeter does so it’s awkward to share with them as I think it’s probably less intuitive.

I rarely write reviews in Japanese so I can’t really comment on that. I only write the Natively ones because most books here have nothing and often the Japanese reviews don’t answer questions that learners would have.

11 Likes

I don’t use it as a forum, but whenever I check out a new book I always look through there
natively is good to use as a learner, but when I want to see reviews on books/manga as a story in itself I use bookmeter and go through reviews written by Japanese audience

there are no “media groups blocked” as far as I’ve seen though I’ve noticed they interface with amazon ISBN, so I would guess that if amazon doesn’t have it than bookmeter would necessarily have it either

regarding kadokawa owning it, tbh it’s a huge tycoon with a huge amount of things they own so saying “there’s no shady side effects” is impossible, but it’s also no different than “owned by amazon”

8 Likes