What is your reading set-up? How do you concentrate for your reading sessions?

So I was wondering what your set-ups for reading look like, specially for “long” sessions.

I do silence, or very low without lyrics music. I go for either physical or digital e-books, although lately it’s been only digital. Sometimes I do read aloud.

My major issue is the first 15-20 minutes though. I feel like it takes me too long to get in the groove / mood to keep on reading comfortably.

Do you have any tips or tricks for concentration? Is it just a mater of skill after all?

10 Likes

I find that I do different things depending on the day/time.

• weekend mornings, first thing after getting up – prepare coffee, read 20+ min, eat breakfast (yes, read before eating)
  • weekdays at lunch – eat lunch, read 15-20 min (with timer, otherwise I forget to go back to work :sweat_smile: )
  • Thu/Fri afternoon – go to library, read / zone out for an hour (I only commit to being in the library, reading is a bonus, it’s a nice break)
  • If I get 5 out of 7 days a week, that’s a success. :slight_smile:

I usually read in silence, but sometimes I play some house / trance / lo-fi music that has no vocals (only instrumentals)
'Night Drive' - Relaxing Deep House & Progressive House Mix - YouTube
Chill Lofi Mix [chill lo-fi hip hop beats] - YouTube

Skill? I’d say that, like with any habit, it’s about removing the obstacles and distractions that get in your way. (smartphones, people talking, the feeling you need to be doing something else, sleepiness, hunger, etc.)

Take all of this with a grain of salt – I’ve only been seriously reading for two months now. :slight_smile:

10 Likes